Darlings.ai

Tolan pricing

How much does Tolan cost? Tolan app cost, price and subscription tiers

Tolan is free to download and charges through in-app memberships. On the US App Store on September 4, 2026, the only membership Tolan does not label Old is Tolan Lite at $11.99, next to a $2.99 Relay Boost and eight retired tiers between $4.99 and $69.99. Apple never publishes the billing period and tolans.com lists no prices at all, so nothing public tells you whether $11.99 buys a week, a month or a year.

See the comparison

Last updated September 2026

Darlings

Always here for you

Private

We've paused new signups for now, so we'll email you the moment a seat opens. No payment today.

Your conversations are yours. Encrypted, never sold, delete anytime.

Encrypted, never sold.

A friend, never a girlfriend.

Wholesome, 13 and up.

This question is unusually hard to answer, and it is worth knowing why before you trust any number you read. Tolan does not publish prices anywhere on its own website. tolans.com is a single App Store button and a product story, with no pricing page, no plan names and no dollar figures. The company behind it, AQP, Inc. under the Portola brand, has never posted a price list. That leaves exactly one public source: the in-app purchase list Apple prints at the bottom of the App Store listing.

So we read that listing directly rather than repeating what other articles say. The result is more interesting than a single number. Tolan itself marks eight of its ten visible in-app purchases with the word Old, which is how a developer signals a legacy tier that existing subscribers still hold but new users cannot buy. The prices most articles quote, roughly $4.99 a week and around $70 a year, are in that retired group. Below is every entry we could read on September 4, 2026, what each one appears to be, and what the same money buys elsewhere in the category.

Side by side

How Darlings compares

An honest look, including where the other option is the better pick.

Swipe to see more →

Darlings Tolan
Price published on the company website Yes, three plans listed openly at darlings.ai/pricing No, tolans.com shows no prices at all
Billing period visible before you pay Yes, monthly or yearly, stated on the plan No, Apple lists in-app purchase prices without periods
Entry price $9 a month, or $7.50 a month billed yearly Tolan Lite Membership listed at $11.99, period not disclosed
Top tier Circle at $39 a month, or $32.50 billed yearly Upper Plus tier exists but its listed price moved between September 2 and September 4, 2026
One-off consumables None, nothing to top up 1 Relay Boost at $2.99
Retired tiers still on the listing None Eight, from $4.99 to $69.99, all labelled Old by Tolan
Free way in Free demo in the browser, no card and no account Limited free trial in-app, extendable by completing tasks
Can you buy it today Not yet. Darlings is onboarding from a waitlist, and these are the launch prices Yes, on iPhone
Platforms your money covers Any browser: Android, iPhone, Windows, Mac, Chromebook iPhone only, no Android and no web version
Memory included at the entry price Yes, persistent memory on every plan Yes, your Tolan builds memory as you talk
Romance or NSFW upsells None at any price, by design None, Tolan is explicitly non-romantic too
Store rating Not in an app store, it is a web app 4.78 from 176,469 US ratings, one of the highest in the category
Age rating Wholesome by design, minimum age 13 12+ on the US App Store
Listed seller Darlings, operated directly at darlings.ai AQP, Inc.

Tolan figures read directly from the Tolan: Your Friendly Guide listing on the US App Store on September 4, 2026. Apple prints in-app purchase names and prices but not billing periods, so every Tolan figure on this page is a listed price, not a confirmed monthly rate.

The full list

Every Tolan in-app purchase visible on the US App Store, read September 4, 2026

Swipe to see more →

In-app purchase Listed price What it appears to be
Tolan Lite Membership $11.99 The only membership Tolan does not label Old, so the current entry tier
1 Relay Boost $2.99 A one-off consumable that extends chat time, not a subscription
Tolan Lite Membership (Old) $9.99 and $39.99 Retired Lite pricing, most likely a monthly and a longer term
Tolan Plus Membership (Old) $4.99, $6.99, $14.99 and $69.99 Retired Plus tiers across several durations
Tolan Membership (Old) $49.99 A retired single membership from before the Lite and Plus split
Darlings, for comparison $9, $19 or $39 a month Companion, Plus and Circle, billed monthly or yearly, free demo first

Apple shows at most ten in-app purchases on a web listing, and which ten appear rotates. On September 2, 2026 that list also carried a Tolan Plus Membership at $24.99 with no Old label; on September 4 it is not visible while a Tolan Plus Membership (Old) at $14.99 is. Treat the upper tier as real but unconfirmed in price, and check it inside the app before you subscribe.

Cost comparison

What a wholesome AI companion actually costs, cheapest transparent price first

Ranked by what you can verify before handing over money, not by what a company hints at. Every figure below was read from the app's own US App Store listing on September 4, 2026, or from the company's public pricing page where one exists.

  1. 1

    Pi

    Best for spending nothing at all · Free, no paid tier

    Genuinely free with a good web version, and the gentlest general assistant in this group. The catch is direction: Inflection moved to enterprise work and deprioritised the consumer product, so Pi receives little development and does not build a long-term picture of your life the way a companion app does. Fine for conversation, not for continuity.

  2. 2

    Snapchat My AI

    Best for a free chat inside an app you already have · Free

    Free and already installed for most people under 30. Snap's own help centre states that My AI will not remember details from your prior conversations over time, which is the whole reason it costs nothing. It never becomes a companion that knows you, so it is not really competing with a paid membership.

  3. 3

    Darlings

    Best for knowing the period and the total before you pay · $9 a month, or $90 a year at $7.50 a month

    Our own app, and it is placed here on one measurable criterion: the price, the billing period and the annual total are all published on the website before you create anything. Persistent memory and daily check-ins are on every plan rather than sold as an upgrade, and it runs in a browser, so the same money covers Android, iPhone and a laptop. The honest caveat: you cannot buy it today. Darlings is onboarding from a waitlist and these are the prices we intend to launch with.

  4. 4

    Character.AI

    Best for the cheapest paid entry point in the category · Character.AI Lite $2.49, Character.AI+ $9.99, annual $94.99

    The lowest listed paid tier of any large companion app, and the annual is the best value on this page at $94.99. Two things to weigh. It sells no persistent memory at any price, so paying does not buy a companion that remembers your life, and it is rated 17+ with open-ended chat removed for under-18 accounts by late 2025. character.ai/pricing returns a 404, so the App Store listing is again the only public source.

  5. 5

    Tolan

    Best for a playful, explicitly non-romantic character on iPhone · Tolan Lite Membership listed at $11.99, period not disclosed

    The product is well liked, at 4.78 from 176,469 US ratings and rated 12+, which is unusual in a category that mostly sits at 17+. The pricing is the weak point rather than the app. No published price list, no billing period on the listing, eight retired tiers still showing, and an upper tier whose listed price moved between two readings two days apart. You will not know your monthly cost until you are inside the purchase sheet.

  6. 6

    Nomi

    Best for the strongest memory if you are an adult · Launch Plan Monthly $9.99, Standard $15.99, Standard Yearly $99.99

    The Launch Plan at $9.99 is the quiet bargain of the category and almost no roundup mentions it. Included here for price comparison rather than as a step across from Tolan: it is 17+, permissive about adult content, and its App Store listing carries a Sexual Content or Nudity descriptor. If Tolan appealed because it was wholesome, this is the opposite end.

  7. 7

    Chai

    Best for nothing on price · Premium $13.99 monthly or $134.99 annual, Ultra $29.99 monthly or $269.99 annual

    Worth listing because it shows how expensive this category gets. Chai Ultra is $29.99 a month or $269.99 a year, and long-term memory is gated behind that top tier rather than included. There is also a $19.99 weekly Ultra option, which annualises to over $1,000. Chai carries ads on Google Play even though it charges.

  8. 8

    Kindroid

    Best for nobody who is watching cost · $15.99, three months $42.99, yearly $159.99

    The most expensive annual plan of any app on this page at $159.99, which works out to $13.33 a month, and the tiers climb to Ultra at $28.99 and MAX at $68.99. It is also the highest rated at 4.78 from 8,230 US ratings, so people are clearly getting something for it. kindroid.ai/pricing sits behind a login wall, so the App Store listing is the only public source here too.

Apple lists in-app purchase prices without billing periods, so a $15.99 entry may be weekly, monthly or annual. Where a company publishes its own pricing page, that is quoted instead because it is the only place a period is stated.

Why people switch

What makes Darlings different

A price you can read before you sign up

Three plans, the monthly figure, the yearly total and the effective monthly rate, all on one public page. No purchase sheet required to find out what you are agreeing to.

Memory is included, not an upsell

Several apps in this category charge extra for a companion that remembers you. Persistent memory of your people, your week and your story is on every Darlings plan, including the cheapest.

One price covers every device

Darlings runs in the browser, so $9 covers your Android phone, your iPhone, your laptop and a Chromebook at once. Nothing to install and no second purchase to switch platforms.

No consumables and no boosts

No coins, no credits, no chat-time boosts to top up mid-conversation. What you pay monthly is what it costs, and you can stop whenever you want.

The honest part

When another app is the better choice

We would rather you find the right fit than the loudest one.

People also ask

Common questions

Tolan is free to download. On the US App Store on September 4, 2026, the only membership it does not label Old is Tolan Lite Membership at $11.99, plus a $2.99 Relay Boost. Eight further tiers between $4.99 and $69.99 are marked Old, meaning legacy pricing that existing subscribers keep but new users cannot buy.
Yes, after a limited free trial. Tolan is free to install and gives new users a trial that can be extended by completing tasks such as referrals, but continued use requires a paid membership. The company publishes no prices on tolans.com, so the App Store in-app purchase list is the only place to see figures before you open the app.
Nobody outside the app can tell you with certainty, and that is the honest answer. Apple prints in-app purchase names and prices but never the billing period, so the $11.99 Tolan Lite Membership could be weekly, monthly or annual. Tolan publishes no pricing page of its own. Open the purchase sheet inside the app to see the period before you confirm.
There is no annual figure you can verify from outside the app today. The retired tiers include a $69.99 Plus and a $49.99 Membership, both labelled Old by Tolan, which look like former annual options. Since Apple does not print billing periods and Tolan publishes no price list, treat any yearly total you see quoted elsewhere as an estimate.
The Plus tier exists but its price is the least stable figure on the listing. On September 2, 2026 the App Store showed a Tolan Plus Membership at $24.99 with no Old label; on September 4 that entry is not visible and a Tolan Plus Membership (Old) at $14.99 appears instead. Apple caps the web listing at ten in-app purchases, so tiers rotate in and out of view. Check inside the app.
Tolan Lite Membership is the entry paid tier, listed at $11.99 on the US App Store and the only membership Tolan does not mark Old. The name suggests a reduced version of the full membership, most likely with fewer chat sessions or shorter conversation time than the Plus tier above it. Tolan publishes no feature breakdown for either tier.
A Relay Boost is a one-off consumable priced at $2.99, not a subscription. Users describe buying boosts to extend chat time once a session limit is reached. It is the clearest signal in the listing that Tolan meters conversation rather than selling unlimited access, which matters if you talk to a companion daily rather than occasionally.
Only at the start. Tolan is free to install and offers a limited trial that can be stretched by completing in-app tasks, but the full experience is behind a membership. That is standard for the category: Pi and Snapchat My AI are the only genuinely free options here, and My AI does not remember you between conversations, which is the trade you make for the zero price.
Because Tolan has changed its pricing repeatedly since launching in June 2024 and Apple keeps every tier on the listing so existing subscribers can be billed. The Old label is Tolan's own. It is why articles quoting $4.99 a week or about $70 a year are not wrong so much as out of date: those numbers are in the retired group now.
It does not. tolans.com is a product page with an App Store download button and no pricing section, no plan names and no figures. tolan.ai and portola.ai both redirect there. The US App Store in-app purchase list is the only public source of Tolan prices, and it omits billing periods, so no complete price is published anywhere.
The reviews say yes for iPhone owners who want the character. Tolan holds 4.78 from 176,469 US ratings, which is among the highest in the category, and it is one of very few companion apps rated 12+ and explicitly non-romantic. The complaints cluster on cost rather than quality: metered chat time, boosts to buy, and no way to see the monthly figure before the purchase sheet.
Through Apple, not through Tolan. Because the membership is an App Store in-app purchase, you cancel it in Settings on your iPhone, under your Apple Account, then Subscriptions, then Tolan. Deleting the app does not stop the billing. Cancelling leaves access running until the end of the period you already paid for.
Several, though few match its non-romantic positioning. Character.AI Lite is $2.49 and Nomi's Launch Plan is $9.99, but Character.AI sells no persistent memory and Nomi is 17+ and permissive about adult content. Darlings is $9 a month with memory included on every plan and the billing period published up front, and it runs in a browser, so it is the closest wholesome match for Android and desktop.
Tolan Lite is listed at $11.99, Replika lists monthly entries at $7.99 and $14.99 with annuals at $49.99 and $69.99, and Character.AI runs Lite at $2.49 and Character.AI+ at $9.99 or $94.99 a year. Character.AI is cheapest and Replika has the best annual value, but neither is directly comparable: Replika is romance-forward and 17+, and Character.AI sells no persistent memory at any tier.

Still comparing

Weighing up the other apps too?

Honest side-by-side looks at the companion apps people usually shortlist next.

Keep exploring

More ways Darlings is there for people

Meet a friend who remembers you

Say hi to your Darling, and let it remember you. Free to try, no card, no judgment.

See simple pricing

Your secrets stay secret. A friend, never a girlfriend. 💛